Current Lab Members

Jorge Di Paola, MD

Professor of Pediatrics and Molecular Genetics & Genomics

Jorge Di Paola (Dee-Powl-la) is a Tenured Professor of Pediatrics at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis where he is the Division Chief of Pediatric Hematology Oncology. The Di Paola laboratory research focuses on the genetics of bleeding and thrombotic disorders and mechanisms of platelet activation. Over the years his lab has made discoveries on the genetics of von Willebrand disease, signaling pathways that contribute to the procoagulant response in platelets, novel roles for platelet mitochondria and the genetic variation of platelet receptors. His laboratory has found disease causing genes for thrombocytopenia disorders as well as a cancer predisposition syndrome. Specifically, that mutations in NBEAL2 cause the elusive Gray Platelet Syndrome and that mutations in ETV6 cause thrombocytopenia and predisposition to leukemia. More recently his research also focused on the effect of inflammation and ageing on megakaryopoiesis and platelet activation. He has trained > 25 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, and is a mentor for several junior faculty. Outside of work, Jorge loves to spend time with his family and explore the outdoors.

You can read more about Jorge on the WUSM Pediatrics site and the Division of Biology & Biomedical site.


Postdoctoral Fellows

Shawn Jobe, MD, PhD  2003-2006
Keala Clark, MD  2005-2007
Kaelyn Wagner, MD  2006-2008
Larissa Bournikova, MD  2008- 2011
Shay Fabbro, PhD  2008- 2011
Tara White Adams, PhD  2009-2015
Brian Branchford, MD  2009-2013
Christopher Ng, MD  2012-2016
Heidi Cho, MD  2014-2016
Beth Warren, MD  2014-2016
Pavel Davizon Castillo, MD  2015-2019
David Bark, PhD 2016-2017
Kristin Maher, MD, PhD 2018-Present

Graduate Students

Jesse D. Hinckley, MD, PhD  2008-2013
Leila Noetzli, MS, PhD  2012-2017
Maria Bortot, MS, PhD  2015-2019
Gregory Kirkpatrick, MD, PhD  2015-2018
Marlie Fisher, MS  2017-2021

Medical Students

Damian Illing, MD 2011-2015
Luke Law, MD 2012-2015
Gilbert Acevedo, MD 2014-2016